Lo’s Kitchen: Bacon and Onion Tart

June 20, 2013

June 067A rowdy crowd.

“This is the first time in my life that I have been in the kitchen actually doing anything. I usually only go in to ask my mom for food or make my sister get me a drink,” nonchalantly said the 23-year-old Paraguayan male, who showed up to my cooking class on a whim. Twenty-three years and he had never lifted a finger inside the culinary room of the house. These sorts of things really shouldn’t shock me, but they always do.

Naturally, I put him right to work—slicing onions, frying bacon, and doing dishes, and I was so proud to see my nine-year-olds schooling him in his tasks. He did not come back to class the following week and perhaps it is no wonder, but at the very least he notched that first on his belt and even got to sample bacon while doing it. A pretty sweet (or savory) deal I might say.

June 066June 059June 060June 063June 062June 065

Leave a Reply

