Year of the Baby Ninjas and iPads.

February 10, 2013

I was explaining the significance and purpose behind red envelopes to my favorite little nuggets. Lauren started discussing the different kinds of candy she would purchase with her monetary allowance and proceeded to dish out a series of expert karate chops as if to emphasize her resolute intent. Then Kate, the resident techie (who is also all of three years old), piped up, “If I get money, I’m going to buy an iPad so I don’t have to share with anyone.”

I had stashed a 2 mil bill (about 50 cents) in each li shi, so someone was about to be severely disappointed in this Year of the Snake.

Hosting and cooking for a boisterous group of eleven is no joke, but the sweat and hours of prep were worth getting to share cultural traditions–ones that I find more ingrained in me than ever the longer I live away from my family–with a whole different world. And for someone who doesn’t love Chinese food by any stretch, I must say I was surprised at what I managed to produce…and in my minimal Paraguayan kitchen no less.

Gong hay fat choi! Xing nian kuai le! Happy Chinese New Year from Asuncion!

Chinese New Year 002The kids’ table.

Chinese New Year 008Nuggets all dressed up in their traditional garb.

Chinese New Year 009Goobers.

Chinese New Year 003The full spread.

Chinese New Year 006Saucy noodles.

Chinese New Year 007Dumplings and chong you bing.

Chinese New Year 005Dan tats for dessert!

Leave a Reply

