Lo’s Kitchen: Pasta Salad.

October 31, 2012

Mi Esperanza organizes a potluck on the first Sunday of every month to promote and facilitate fellowship among the church members. Generally, a sign-up sheet is sent around a week prior and people can commit to bring chorizos (sausages), bread, salad, or drinks. On occasion, I have seen my teenagers show up with a bottle of Niko (the notorious cheap brand of soda in Paraguay–I would love to conduct a scientific study to track the effects of this potent bubbly liquid on the human body but I digress) to contribute or a few pieces of pan Felipe, the quintessential Paraguayan dinner roll.

Needless to say, I was proud to see T and J’s names signed under the salad column this month. Even more was my pleasure when they excitedly informed me they would be concocting a pasta salad interpretation inspired by the basic recipe I taught in my latest cooking workshop.

Lo’s Kitchen has truly become my pride and joy in Paraguay. Praise God for the work He has done and continues to do in the lives of these teenagers and kids through a humble two hours a week in a cramped, stuffy kitchen. Cook on, my friends!

Leave a Reply

