Lo’s Kitchen: Apple Cinnamon Bread Pudding.

July 5, 2012

Math has never been my strong suit. In fact, it has never even approached my average suit. Being with B and standing next to his immense mathematical prowess further diminishes any sort of passable abilities I might have (if at all). Unfortunate and a bit embarrassing, yes, but this is why I bake chocolate cakes, write blogs, and drink lots of coffee. Because those things, I can do.

Imagine my consternation then when upon coming to Paraguay, I realize some variation of math tutoring is absolutely essential if my cooking classes wish to continue (let us not even mention the revamping of reading skills or spelling or common sense or…). The fact that I have to lead these weekly review sessions on basic addition does not bode well for the future of this planet.

But review we must.

1/2 + 1/2 = 1.
1/3 + 1/3 + 1/3 = 1.
1/4 + 1/4 + 1/4 + 1/4 = 1.

I then scoop 1/3 cup of flour into a bowl. I do it again, dumping out yet another 1/3 cup of flour. “How many more of *these* (holding up the 1/3 cup) do I need to complete one full cup?” I ask.

Answers immediately ring out from the kids whose ages range from 8 to 16.

4! One-half! 7?

“Huh?! That doesn’t even make sense! Don’t give me an answer until you’ve thought about it!” I fire back.

(slight pause) I know! I know! One cup of sugar!!

Yes, please, pass me the sugar. Let’s just eat.

Leave a Reply

