Dinosaur Love: A Million Dollar Smile.

May 8, 2012

It started out with six of us, our Sunday nights, and Hot Monkey Love. The club, that is. We’d squeeze into one car and drive all the way down to El Cajon, making sure to arrive in time for the free lessons. The instructor always had the most flamboyant wide-legged pants, but his forgiving teaching style warranted the overlook on that point. We never forgot to go with an even number of girls and guys, so no one would get stuck dancing with a creeper. And, of course, as night owl college students in their prime, late-night taco runs afterwards were a must.

Man, I miss those days.

Slowly, our group swelled to include more friends, more sweaty palms, and more tacos. Since this was around the time B started doing his wooing dance in earnest, he naturally began tagging along on our salsa excursions as well.

Secretly, I was relieved to have a default dance partner even if his ultra-spazzy spins were kind of overwhelming. Not to mention, I was impressed that he as an Asian guy was so willing to put forth such a dancing effort. But I persisted in my denial that there was chemistry or that he even liked me at all (despite having gone on several dates already). I was moving to Spain for a year in a matter of weeks, and this was not the time to be inciting anything.

After a few uptempo songs and even more hip shakes, B led me out into the waiting room lounge for a break. We plopped down on a cushioned sofa and there on the coffee table immediately in front of us was a dinosaur encyclopedia. Otherwise known as a divine appointment. Nerdy banter and too many corny T-Rex jokes had us laughing sheepishly and relishing the ease of natural company.

Eventually, the salsa beats returned (this was pre-Bachata days for us) and we slunk back onto the dance floor. Settling into the basic step with some interspersed turns suddenly felt really comfortable and familiar. This is nice, I thought to myself. Really nice. I looked up to steal a glance of B’s face, and there he was gazing at me with this aloof smile worth a million bucks.

Every defense came crumbling down and I felt myself melting into a puddle of resignation. Fine, I like this guy. A lot. I finally let myself admit that we worked really well together, and that I could see a future in this dinosaur business.

That was a defining moment in our relationship. I will never forget it. Those pearly whites and the crinkly eyes. Sigh.

They still get me.

4 Responses to “Dinosaur Love: A Million Dollar Smile.”

  1. Si Says:

    :) Took you so long to admit it….


  2. […] B wordlessly appeared in my doorway gallantly holding a bright bouquet of yellow roses and looking like he had just stepped off a movie set. He was dressed in crisp black slacks, a perfectly tailored button-up shirt, sleek aviators, and his classic million dollar smile. […]


  3. […] night of 2013. I returned home from work to see B sitting on my bed wearing a snazzy knit tie and a sheepish smile. After weeks of mysteriously promising to visit me in San Diego, he had finally […]


Leave a Reply

