Cataratas do Iguacu: Macuco Safari.

March 27, 2012

Since I am on a tourist visa in Paraguay, I have to leave the country and get my passport re-stamped every 90 days. Over Christmas, I made a glorious pit stop in Honduras. This time around, I am hanging out in Foz do Iguacu, Brazil for a few days, and it has been a refreshing escape. Conveniently enough, I have family in Brazil as well, and this has made it a wonderful first time in the country (booyah to Resolution #2).

One of the main attractions in Foz are the infamous Iguacu Falls. We took a trip out on Sunday, and they were truly a sight to behold. I had heard of their legendary wonder and had seen impressive Google images beforehand, but as with most geographical marvels, nothing beats the up close and personal firsthand experience.

In the National Park, there is a walking trail that brings you progressively proximate to the Falls (pictures from that mini trek to come), but I also had the privilege of sidling up so close, I could literally taste (okay, I was kind of force fed…) the rushing water pounding down.

We went on the Macuco Safari which takes life vest-bundled groups on a raft RIGHT UNDER THE WATERFALLS. The journey starts off calm and picturesque, and gradually picks up speed and mischievosity.

Wondrous admiration of the rock formations and the approaching Falls from afar was pretty breathtaking as it were, but being noogied and head-locked and completely doused by the Falls was stinking awesome! I don’t think I have ever been so excited about being bullied. Sure, my orange flotation device smelled like a janky wet Sasquatch (trust me, they are NOT about to bottle that junks) and the Falls did flip a contact or two, but !!! Not enough words to capture the essence of sweet Brazilian adventure.

Check it.

One big pile of stinky Sasquatches (but don’t we look cute?).

Stoked yo.

The Falls on the Argentina side.

Victoria and me.

Approaching Brazil’s prized possessions.

Getting closer…

BAM.

Just the beginning.

Hahahaha!

We survived.

The calm after the storm.

One Response to “Cataratas do Iguacu: Macuco Safari.”


  1. […] year, when I jaunted over to Foz to visit my aunt, we did the whole shebang on the Brazilian side. A winding walking path takes you through the National Park, passing […]


Leave a Reply

