Lo’s Spicy Roasted Chili Salsa.

February 7, 2012

Superbowl Party Organizer Extraordinaires.

Like most people in the United States (at least according to the general sentiment I gleaned from Facebook), I could not have been less interested in this year’s Superbowl match-up. Having no investment in either team whatsoever, I instead focused my energies on the food. (Duh.)

While F took charge of hooking up the projector and finding a reliable feed to stream the game, S and I undertook the mission of producing gastronomic delights to compensate for the otherwise unimpressive face-off. And with an all-American guest list, we pulled out all the stops.

Coveted and self-imported goods like mint chocolate chips, walnuts, preciously stashed Tostitos (tortilla chips here are seriously rock hard), Whopper malt balls, and Reese’s Cups came out to dazzle. I made some truly decadent toffee bars and two kinds of salsa. Since the last recipe I shared was laden with butter, and the dessert I brought this time contained even more (ack, I’m turning into Paula Deen…), I figured I better share some health saluting secrets instead.

Lo’s Spicy Roasted Chili Salsa

8 large tomatoes
1 large onion
1/2 cup cilantro
3 cloves garlic, minced
3-5 chili peppers, depending on spice preference
3 limes
Black Pepper
Salt

Place rinsed whole peppers (I used red aji chilies) on a metal pie pan and roast in a toaster oven until they explode or look almost blackened. Mince finely and under no circumstances should you rub your eyes. Set aside.

Roughly chop tomatoes, onions, and cilantro, and place vegetables along with garlic in a blender. Pulse until ingredients are pureed. Pour into a bowl, add minced chilies, and squeeze in lime juice. Salt and pepper to taste.

Dish it out with some freshly fried corn tortilla chips!

Note: This recipe yields a pretty significant amount, but is totally freezable. It’s also delicious on scrambled eggs and I suspect would make a great marinade on some slow-cooker chicken for shredded tacos.

One Response to “Lo’s Spicy Roasted Chili Salsa.”


  1. […] the weekly workshops go on hold. Enter Mexican food. On the docket were baked chicken tacos and my roasted salsa, which, at the end of the evening, were declared smashing […]


Leave a Reply

