Carrot Cake Pancakes.

January 26, 2012

I wish french fries were vegetables. But since I have been told that they are not, I really have to dig deep to consume my veggies on a regular basis (or any basis, for that matter). The latent five-year-old in me combined with my steak-eating instincts make this a total chore. And now that I live alone and cook for myself, there really is no one else tossing salads on the table that I swear are often laced with tiny conscience aliens screaming, “Eeeeaaaat meeee!” until I guiltily put a little on my plate.

It’s not that I hate vegetables. There are simply so many other foods out that there are much more appealing to me. Like chocolate doughnuts. And french fries.

That said, I am on the hunt for relatively painless ways to pack vegetable nutrients in my body with as few bites as possible. These carrot cake pancakes are pretty much more carrot than pancake, yet don’t taste like salad in a griddled slab. It’s awesome.

Check it out.

Carrot Cake Pancakes

[Adapted from myrecipes.com]

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
pinch of ground ginger
1/4 cup light brown sugar
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 tablespoon vegetable oil (so many vegetables, ha!)
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups finely grated carrot

Combine flour and listed ingredients through ginger in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Combine 1/4 cup brown sugar, buttermilk, oil, vanilla, and eggs. Add sugar mixture to flour mixture, stirring just until moist. Fold in shredded carrot.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Spoon batter mounds onto pan, spreading with a spatula. Cook until tops are covered with bubbles and edges look cooked. Carefully turn pancakes over and cook until bottoms are lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

