Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze

January 12, 2012

Eh. Clearly food styling and photography are not my strengths.

One of my resolutions for 2012 is to cook something new every week. New simply meaning a creation I have not yet attempted to make.

With leftover pumpkin puree in the fridge crying to be used, I whipped up some pumpkin scones and topped them with a cinnamon nutmeg glaze. Normally, I am not a huge fan of scones as I find them to be dry, dense, and grossly doughy when chewed. But I’m constantly looking to expand my repertoire beyond cake and cookies, so voila–algo nuevo. Also, the original recipe is a take on Starbucks’ pumpkin scones. Neither am I a particularly big supporter of Starbucks.

All that being said, these were DELICIOUS. Light, moist, and perfect with a steaming hot mug of Cafe Indio (or iced in my case since it is 100+ degrees here).

I call the first “something new” of 2012 a succulent success.

Pumpkin Scones

[Adapted from weheartfood.com]

Yields 12

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup and 3 tablespoons brown sugar, lightly packed

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

6 tablespoons cold butter, cut into 1-inch cubes

1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree

3 tablespoons heavy cream

1 large egg

1 cup plus 3 tablespoons powdered sugar

2 tablespoons milk

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 pinch ground ginger

1 pinch ground cloves

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger. Add the butter and with a beater, mix on low speed until the texture resembles coarse cornmeal.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, heavy cream, and egg. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients, and form dough into a ball. Pat out dough onto a lightly floured surface and form into a 1-inch thick rectangle about 4 inches by 10 inches. Use a large knife to slice the dough making three equal portions. Cut each of the portions in an X pattern (four pieces) so you end up with 12 triangular slices of dough. Place on prepared baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 14-16 minutes, or until light brown. Place on wire rack to cool.
  5. While the scones are cooling, combine all of the ingredients for the spiced glaze. Drizzle (or smother) over each scone and allow the icing to dry before serving.
5 Responses to “Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze”

  1. joyce Says:

    I’m pretty sure I have scones to solely blame for my freshman fifteen. I have a food resolution this year too btw! I’m gonna try to cook one homemade meal a month. Glad I can come here for some inspiration. Happy new year, Lauren :)

  2. whfood Says:

    Awesome. Thanks for making the recipe. :)

  3. Si Says:

    YUM. Sounds/looks like something I would instantly gobble up:) I may have to try making those….

  4. caseyucsd Says:

    Excuse me? Do you mean real canned pumpkin or the do-it-yourself boil/peel/blend the pumpkin method of latin america? That process alone deters me from such dishes unfortunately.

    • loandbetold Says:

      Ha. Casey. I had my parents bring me canned pumpkin puree (and Nutella, brown sugar, hot Cheetos, etc.) when I went to Honduras. I’m not as hardcore as you, my friend!


Leave a Reply

