Bunny 2011

December 11, 2011

One of the girls in my small group kept writing “Bunny 2011” on the whiteboard in fancy handwriting. There were pink flowers and purple curlicues all around it. I was confused on so many levels. Concerned, for one, that it might be some Playboy reference that she was unaware (or completely conscious) of, I ventured to broach the bunny business.

“Hahahaha. It’s pronounced BOONIE, [Lo]. Don’t you speak English?!?!”

Last I checked, I still spoke English and ‘bunny’ referenced a small rabbit and not a far-off neighborhood on the outskirts of town. Nevertheless, I figured the best way to solve this was to invite her to Mi Esperanza’s free English classes on Thursday nights. She has been attending faithfully ever since.

This past week we celebrated our last day of English classes for the school year with sugar cookie decoration, a Frosty the Snowman video (it’s summer here, but still Christmas season…), and a little awards ceremony.

Check out some pictures from the evening.

English Teachers

Cookies and a group pic.

My student Adriana.

My other student Christian. (Yes, I only had two.)

Not everyone showed but here are our certificated chums!

One Response to “Bunny 2011”

  1. Carla Says:

    How exciting! You look great btw!


Leave a Reply

