Big Angel

April 28, 2011

“You are big, big angel to me and my daughter, [Lo]. I wish you many money for life, a big house, handsome husband, who is very nice, and many, many babies. You are young, beautiful girl, maybe only 13-years-old. You should go make good life. I hope everything you want, you take. You take, okay? You never let people say you no. We always remember things you do to help us when we were in big dangerous. Thank you many, many.” offered my client, a former mail order bride, in her thick Russian accent.

There is something unspeakably humbling about having a woman, whose life has been but a series of unparalleled hardships, express verbal exhortations wishing the good life on me. I have so much to learn.

Especially at the ripe old age of thirteen.

One Response to “Big Angel”


Leave a Reply

