In the interest of maximum exposure…

March 30, 2011

It is my sincerest hope that this letter finds you inspired and excited in the wake of a fresh, new year. I, personally, am looking forward to all that 2011 promises to hold. To elaborate a bit…

God has opened a door for me to serve in Asunción, Paraguay with The Christian and Missionary Alliance for two years. The main goal of CMA is twofold: to walk people out of their darkness and into the Light, and to raise up a national church to do the same. I will be assisting with church plants along with contributing to an Employment and Life Skills Institute the CMA runs for the poor. I will also be involved with leading an AWANA program for children and doing community outreach to impoverished families through those Children’s Ministries. There are also one-on-one discipleship opportunities with abused women seeking emotional healing, as well as plethora of other ways to support the short-staffed CMA team in Asuncion.

I graduated from UCSD in June 2009 with a B.A. in International Studies: Sociology and Latin American Studies. I have since been working as a social worker at an emergency shelter for victims of domestic violence and sexual assault. The work of front-line crisis intervention has been emotionally and physically demanding, but I have learned much in the way of unconditional love and perseverance. It has been a journey that has honed my passions and equipped me with practical experience and skills to contribute to the ministries in Asunción.

But to say that it is my current job that has largely prepared me for ministry would be remiss. While it has played a formative role in my preparation, it is, in fact, a lifetime of experiences that has culminated in the fruition of pursuing ministry in Latin America. Spending my childhood summers growing up in Honduras instilled in me a keen awareness of poverty (both spiritual and physical) and a great love for the region. Short-term ministry trips to Guatemala and Mexico, an internship with UNICEF in Barcelona, and International Studies courses taken throughout my college career have additionally fostered in my heart the passion to live, serve, and champion social justice in Latin America. It has been a process of growth and development leading up to this point, and I am excited for the privilege to serve in this capacity.

In order to serve as an effective CMA team member in Paraguay, I need to raise about $12,650/year (a total of roughly $25,300 for a two-year commitment, not including airfare). This budget factors in the costs of housing, daily transportation, food, ministry expenses, CMA administration, my visa, and a monthly 10% tithe.

If you feel led to get involved with my ministry in Paraguay, please consider partnering with me in prayer and/or supporting the ministry financially. I have enclosed a card detailing the logistics.  If you would like to hear more in-person, I would love to meet with you! Please do not hesitate to contact me to ensure that we do so. The fruits of pursuing God’s calling in Latin America are buoyed by the dedicated prayer and support of the community around me. I covet your continued thoughts and intercessions on my behalf and for my ministry.

I am blessed by you, and I am looking forward to sharing with you all the trials, triumphs, and answered prayers encountered in Paraguay. Thank you for the love and partnership so far.

Besos and blessings,

Lo

Leave a Reply

